User Guide › Stage 3 – Monitoring

Stage 3 – Monitoring

On monitor screens, you are able to control (Stop/Run) the processes, change parallel level and monitor them.

The screen shows all the groups by workflow.
The whole workflow can be run or specific group only.
To control the whole workgroup use buttons in the upper right corner.
Starting the workflow will always perform all the groups from the beginning to the end.
Stopping the workflow will stop any running process, regardless whether they were run individually or in a scope of workflow.

When running group individually use buttons located inside the blue box of the required group.
The groups are: Prepare, Copy Data, Create Indexes, and Copy Objects.
The groups should be run in correct order – as they appear on the screen from left to the right.
All the group groups may be re-run. More details about rerunning are found later in every group’s description.


3.1 PREPARE GROUP

This group is intended to prepare destination database for migration. It contains several modules that are run subsequently. Every module may be started/stopped individually.

  • Directories – creates directories in the database as configured. If any directory already exists – it is overwritten with the new configuration.
  • Tablespaces – creates tablespaces. If any tablespace already exists – it is skipped.
  • Users – creates users and tables. If any user or table already exists – it is skipped. If running in refresh mode – the tables and/or users are dropped first.

Detailed Log
At any stage, you can see the detailed log for more information:


3.2 COPY DATA GROUP

In the ‘General’ section, you can monitor copy data progress by size or by the amount of copied tables.
The ‘Load Measure’ part of this section designed to show the average load of source and target servers.
From this screen, you may change the parallel level according to load level on servers and improve a workflow performance “on the fly.”

Every time this group runs, it chooses all segments with empty statuses and copies them. The segments are chosen ordered by size – it means that the largest segments are copied first. If a table is partitioned, the partitions are copied independently. Same for subpartitions.

Improve a workflow performance on the fly
The work is done in parallel in number of sessions simultaneously. This method provides full utilization of all resources, like network bandwidth, storage capacity, CPU allocation. It is crucial to find the optimal level of parallelism, since too small value does not use the systems at full extent and too large value causes overloading. Both cases result in poor performance. Usually, the parallel level is set in the beginning and stays static, but in case of changing environment, this level should be changed and adopted.

Accelario allows you to monitor every segment that is involved in this group.

The “Segments” grid show following properties:

  • Status – may have next values:
    • Empty – not handled yet, it will be processed later
    • FINISHED – successfully copied segment
    • STARTED – currently being copied
    • ERROR – failed to copy
  • Source owner – owner of the segment in the source database.
  • Source table – table name of the segment in the source database.
  • Partition – partition name of the segment in the source database. Empty if non-partitioned table.
  • Subpartition – partition name of the segment in the source database. Empty if non-subpartitioned table.
  • Size – size of the segment in the source database. The size may be different from destination database due to fragmentation, compression, physical layout, etc.
  • Start – datetime when a copy has started. Empty if the segment is not handled yet.
  • End – datetime when a copy has finished (successfully or not). Empty if the segment is not handled yet or is still running
  • Clear Status – button to reset the status of the segment to empty. It is used when the user wants to run the copy of a segment again. The user is responsible for making sure that the segment is empty. There is a check that verifies it, but it can be disabled (config tables screen – verify empty column). In this case, duplicates may be created.
  • Clear all – button to reset status of all filtered segments.

3.3 CREATE INDEXES GROUP

In the General section, you can monitor create indexes progress by size or by the amount of created indexes.
Load the Measure part of the General section designed to show the average load of source and target servers.
From this screen, you may change the parallel level according to load level on servers and improve a workflow performance “on the fly”.

Every time this group runs, it chooses all indexes with empty statuses and copies them. The indexes are chosen ordered by their tables’ size – it means that the largest indexes are copied first. This group handles both indexes and constraints (primary keys and unique keys). First, all indexes have to finish. Then, constraints are built. If any index fails, the constraints do not start to run.

Improve a workflow performance on the fly
The work is done in parallel in number of sessions simultaneously. This method provides full utilization of all resources, like network bandwidth, storage capacity, CPU allocation. It is crucial to find the optimal level of parallelism, since too small value does not use the systems at full extent and too large value causes overloading. Both cases result in poor performance. Usually, the parallel level is set in the beginning and stays static, but in case of changing environment, this level should be changed and adopted.

Accelario allows you to monitor every index that is involved in this group.

The “Indexes” grid show following properties:

  • Status – may have next values:
    • Empty – not handled yet, it will be processed later
    • FINISHED – successfully created index
    • STARTED – currently being created
    • ERROR – failed to create
  • Source owner – owner of the index on the source database.
  • Index – index name on the source database.
  • Size – size of the table on which the index is created on the source database.
  • Start – datetime when index creation has started. Empty if the index is not handled yet.
  • End – datetime when index creation has finished (successfully or not). Empty if the index is not handled yet or is still running
  • Clear Status – button to reset the status of the index to empty. It is used when the user wants to run the index creation again. The user is responsible for making sure that the index does not exist. If the index exists – it will fail the index creation and mark the index as ERROR.
  • Clear all – button to reset status of all filtered indexes.

3.4 MONITOR COPY OBJECTS

The Final stage of a Workflow is copying all database objects and compute statistics.

This group is intended to complete the migration. It contains several modules that are run subsequently. Every module may be started/stopped individually.

  • Entities – copies all the objects of all selected user into the destination database. If any object already exists – it is skipped. This module may be safely rerun multiple times.
  • Compile – compiles all objects of selected users in the destination database.
  • Stats – gather statistics in the destination database. The parameters are defined in Config Option screen.

Every time the module “Entities” runs, it chooses all users with empty statuses and copies them.

Accelario allows monitoring of every user that is involved in this group.

The “Entities” grid show following properties:

  • Username – username in the source database.
  • Destination username – username in the destination database. Empty if the source and destination usernames are the same.
  • Status – may have next values:
    • Empty – not handled yet, it will be processed later
    • FINISHED – successfully created index
    • STARTED – currently being created
    • ERROR – failed to create
  • Status date – datetime of last status change. Empty if the user is not handled yet.
  • Clear Status – button to reset the status of the user to empty. It is used when there is a need to copy the user objects again.
  • Clear all – button to reset status of all filtered users.

After completing of all major stages – Prepare, Copy Data Create Indexes and Copy Objects, the user can go to Analyze – in order to check the whole Workflow running process on the Analysis screens.